Home | History | The Four Original San Luis de la Paz Neighborhoods

The Four Original San Luis de la Paz Neighborhoods

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
The Four Original San Luis de la Paz Neighborhoods

San Luis de la Paz, Gto. Wednesday, May 30, 2012.  In its origin, San Luis de la Paz was divided in to four indigenous neighborhoods and an area for the Spaniards.  The neighborhoods took the name of the chapels they housed: San Francisco, San Luis (San Luisito today), Our Lady of Solitude (La Virgencita today), and Our Lady of Guadalupe.  They remained during the Colonial Era, forming the basis of what is today the municipal seat. 

Otomi, Tlaxcalteca and other indigenous people were brought by the Europeans, to set an example of sedentariness and peaceful living to the native Chichimeca.  They were installed in the core of the population.  Not the Chichimeca, who were placed outside of town.  Their extreme rebellious being seems to have been the reason for the separation. 

Each neighborhood built its own chapel: San Francisco (which was rebuilt in the early 20th Century), San Luisito (which is preserved like it was before), Our Lady of Solitude (which was demolished in the 1920s and with its remains was built La Virgencita), and Our Lady of Guadalupe (also rebuilt in the first decade of the 20th Century).  In addition to these chapels, Otomi families had some within their homes. 

Up to the mid-19th Century, Mision de Chichimecas was known as Mission of Our Lady of Guadalupe.   Even though the name of the community is different now, its members still worship this representation of Virgin Mary.  Oral tradition mentions that in the same place where this Catholic Church was built, in the past there was a temple to their indigenous deity Curi-Caberi.  So perhaps when they revere Our Lady of Guadalupe, they indirectly adore their ancient god.

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Image gallery